RSS Feed

Vegans can have Butterbeer, too!

A few months ago, one of my friends sent me a recipe for Butterbeer cupcakes. It looked fantastic, and I was excited to try it. I’m pretty confident in my ability to veganize just about anything, but I was having a few problems with finding dairy-free butterscotch chips. They may as well not exist, as difficult to find as they are. While in North Carolina, however, I was able to make a trip to Food Lion, and their store-brand butterscotch chips just happen to be vegan. Unfortunately, they don’t really melt in a ganache-friendly way–they melted, but would not blend with the milk–so that put a huge damper on the butterscotch filling. Instead, I just added the chips to the batter, hoping they would taste better whole and solid than in an oily, melty goo. Fortunately, they turned out ok, and everyone was glad to eat them, but I knew I could do better.

I had a few friends over on Harry Potter Day before going to the midnight showing of Deathly Hallows Part 2, and I thought this was a perfect opportunity to give these cupcakes another try.

We have house unity.

Having never had official Butterbeer, these cupcakes are just my interpretation (or my interpretation of an interpretation…whatever). When my friends and I make Butterbeer ourselves, it’s usually an ever-changing combination of butterscotch schnapps, vodka, cream soda, and soda water. I think it’s delicious (even that one time when I used San Pellegrino, whiskey and butterscotch syrup) and I think these cupcakes do a pretty good job replicating that taste.

A note about the butter flavoring: I picked up some for the Amy’s Bites recipe and don’t have much use for it, so I’m trying to use it where ever I can. I don’t think it would change the flavor too much to leave it out, though.

Without further ado, here is the recipe:

Vegan Butterbeer Cupcakes
Makes an even dozen

What you need:
1/3 c milk (I used almond)
1/3 c cream soda
1/2 tsp apple cider vinegar
2/3 cup butterscotch syrup + extra to swirl and drizzle (my recipe)
1/3 cup canola oil
1 TBS vanilla
1 tsp butter flavoring (optional)
1 1/3 cup flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt

What you do:
Whisk together milk and cider vinegar and set aside a few minutes while you get everything else ready (this gives it time to curdle).

Preheat oven to 325 and line the cupcake pan.

Sift together all dry ingredients and set aside.

In a larger bowl, combine all your wet ingredients, including the milk mixture. Mix well and add dry ingredients bit by bit, mixing until no lumps remain.

Fill cupcake liners 2/3 full (I use a 1/3 measuring cup for this and only just hit 12 cupcakes).

I did half the batch with a butterscotch swirl and half without. The ones with the swirl needed extra time to bake and didn’t fluff up as much. I have a huge sweet-tooth, and I thought they were definitely toeing the too-sweet line. Without the extra swirl, the cupcakes still had that wonderful butterscotch taste without being too sweet.

If you want the swirl: Add about 1 tsp butterscotch syrup per cup and give a little stir to mix it in.

Bake cupcakes 20-22 minutes.

Let cool completely before frosting!!

Butterscotch Frosting:
Makes more than enough for a dozen cupcakes

What you need:
1/2 cups Earth Balance
1/4 cups cream cheese
1/2 cup butterscotch syrup
1 TBS vanilla
1 tsp butter flavoring
4-5 cups powdered sugar
Splash of milk or cream soda, if needed.

What you do:
Cream together butter and butterscotch. Add the extracts, and then add sugar in batches.

Beat until fluffy.

If it’s too stiff, use some milk or cream soda until you reach the proper consistency.

They taste better when they're melting, I promise.

With any luck, your kitchen won’t be 100 degrees and your icing will stay fluffy rather than melting.

Once you’ve iced your cupcakes, drizzle some butterscotch swirls and enjoy!!

I'd rather be at the Three Broomsticks.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Vegan Butterbeer Cupcakes with Butterscotch Frosting | You Can't Eat That

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

